Back to Narnia

Have you ever re-read a classic book from your childhood? I was writing about a book I read as a teenager the other day, “The Other Side of the Mountain”.  So last night I revisited one of my favorites from childhood, one filled with with fantasy, of a family of two brothers and two sisters, just like my family. I think I got more out of it now as an adult than I did a child. C.S. Lewis’s “Chronicles of Narnia” is the book I’m talking about. What comes to mind for me after reading this again is the ability to tell between good and evil. We do this by the things we focus our spiritual eyes on. If we set our eyes on money, for example, we may have the good life for a while, but our judgement will become clouded. We’ll make choices that defy our own values-choices that may devastate our families and destroy us in the end. What am I saying? I guess don’t love money. Back to the book, Edmund’s lust for sweets leads him to betray his beloved brother and sisters. Eustace’s desire for the dragons gold eventually turns him into a dragon. Greed overcomes Prince Caspian on Deathwater Island as he dreams of the power its magic water bring him.

Food, money, power-whereever we focus our spiritual eyes determines what we desire, and whether our lives are filled with light or filled with darkness. “The lamp of the body is the eye. If therefore your eye is good, your whole body will be full of light” I remember Mrs. Martin in Sunday School quoting this. I wrote about her the other day, so thought I’d quote her again.   I guess she was quoting some JESUS!

 
~ by deveil on SeptemberUTCb000000amTue, 20 Sep 2011 11:43:36 +000011 19, 2007.

2 Responses to “Back to Narnia”

  1. Good / great books should be read at several times in a man’s life, for they mean different things at different times. Often I get something new by rereading an old favorite. It is marvelous to do.

  2. Yeah I did that to your suggestion the other day, now if I can just find my old book, The Other Side of the Mountain and reread that one. And Island of the Blue Dolphin.

Leave a Reply

 
