My Side of the Mountain

Tonight I’ve been thinking about all the places I escaped to as a child.  Mostly I escaped by the books I read.  I remember reading, “The Island of the Blue Dolphin”, and escaping to a beautiful island.  One of my favorite books was “My side of the Mountain”, I remember reading this in the 5th grade, where a young boy runs away from home to live in the mountains, he keeps a journal of his life in nature.  He befriends a falcon.  I often fantacized about leaving home to live in the solitude of nature, sometimes I still do.  I loved the way my Papa made me feel when we were off together just the two of us.  What was passed on was truly a blessing.  I think I need to find this book and read it again.

~ by deveil on AugustUTCb000000pmWed, 31 Aug 2011 15:38:39 +000011 19, 2007.

One Response to “My Side of the Mountain”

  1. good books should be reread at different time periods of you life. They mean different things at different points in your life.

Leave a Reply

 
