A birthday I will not forget

_mg_2451

Today I turned 41, I thought it was going to be a restful one.  Didn’t turn out that way.   One day I’ll look back on this one and laugh.   I guess I already am.   I had to go pick up my tux after work today, I got it tried it on, fits good.  Back on the road my car decided to die on me.   I called AAA they came to try and get it started.   The cellphone died at the same time.    After waiting an hour for the AAA guy he told me it was the alternator, and would have to be towed.  Then another hour the tow truck guy got there.   Then I was left on the side of the road, with my tux, a dead cellphone, and the clothes on my back and shoes.   I wasn’t on the best side of town, a few hookers on the other side of the road, scary looking ones, they asked me for 50 cents, and laughed.   Could it get worse, yes, the rains hit, me and my newly cleaned tux, soaked.   When I didn’t think I could take any more.  I had been praying all along please just get me home, a cab pulled up, and saved me.   It cost $30 to get home, but it was a well paid for $30.   I realize now I need to memorize my friends telephone #’s, cell phones really make your brain lazy.   Now I’m home, I do have a ride to work tomorrow.   Turk is going to pick me up from work and take me to the concert.   I’m praying it won’t be more than just my alternator.   This was definately not the way I was supposed to spend my birthday.   Oh well  at least all the rest will hopefully be better than this one.   Somehow I knew today was going to be a hard day.  Please God give me strength to make it throgh this weekend.

~ by deveil on DecemberUTCb000000pmThu, 11 Dec 2008 22:54:46 +000008 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “A birthday I will not forget”

  1. I’d have to say that 50 cents for a hooker is a really great deal. Must be a Holiday special. Sorry for your horrible birthday. Happy returns!

  2. Despite the trauma. I hope you had a happy birthday!

  3. Happy birthday even with all the unexpected events!

  4. Many happy returns on this feast day of your nativity!
    May the next 41 years be even more prosperous.

  5. Well, it was just the car’s alternator. Not yours. Getting old there, you know. happy birthday! I’ve got you by a decade, so I think you’ll make it.

  6. Happy Belated! You look delicious 😛

Leave a Reply

 
