Way Back Wednesday

Next week at this time I will be laying on the beach with my family, my mom, sisters, brother, inlaws, niece, and nephews.  Lately I’ve been a little back and forth with my feelings, happy one day, a little depressed the next, today my mom sent me an email I sent her a few years ago when she was turning 60.  Reading it today made me feel pretty good, so I thought I’d post it for today. 

I’ve been thinking about what my mom told me the other day.  She is turning sixty next month.  Big milestone I’m sure.   She makes me think of things I’ve never thought of, about wanting to see us grow up, and now wanting to see her grandchildren grow up and wondering if her mother did the same thing.  What is it they call life’s older year’s; the “sunset years.”   Are they rosy? 

I think of my life now, the past, the present, the future.  How sometimes life has become clouded with despair and sadness and other times such great joy.  So to me I think we should try our best early in life to get the right focus.  Once I never thought about the people that crossed my path, I didn’t think about how I influenced them or treated them.  I’m not saying I was terrible, I was just unaware of my surroundings.  So the thought never even crossed my mind.  I feel more responsibility now.  What kind of older man will I be, I’m 37, what will I be like when I’m 57, if given the chance to reach 57.  I think the answer depends very much on what kind of person I am now.

I love watching and talking to the elderly.   I always have even since I was little, so what have I observed.  I’ve visited many nursing homes.  The air is different sometimes from room to room.  There are contented elderly people, and there are not so contented ones.  Is it our focus more than our feelings that determines the sort of people we are.  My mema every time she got up she would say “Oh, me, me, me”!  But she got up and she cooked all the time.    My nana never complained any that I can remember.  If she hurt or had pains, I never heard her.  Although I know she suffered a stroke and had to learn to do everything over, even talk.   

Now I think of my mom, she’s not old to me, she never will be.  My mom’s groans which are few give way to praise for God’s goodness.  She focuses on gratitude and I think that started early in her life.   I remember a cartoon from “Family Circus”  The clouds are parting, and the little boy says to his mom, the sun is shining through and I can see a little bit of Heaven. 

What do you think, what is your focus today, regardless of your feelings?  Is it of gratitude.  This is why I believe my mom grows more sweet and more beautiful each waking day.

 

~ by deveil on JulyUTCb000000pmWed, 23 Jul 2008 12:12:21 +000008 19, 2007.

One Response to “Way Back Wednesday”

  1. I think your mom is beautiful, and she raised a fine son. My focus today is on gratitude too. For my friends, for water, for strawberries, for my health, for kindness, for my futon… , -)

Leave a Reply

 
