It’s dark outside

When darkness comes I focus on the light.   I feel I’m trying so hard to keep strong and keep a positive outlook on everything.    Sometimes though there are other forces at play, in the darkness.   I’ve probably written about this before, but when I was in the 3rd grade I had this crazy interest in Greek mythology.   It was amazing, and most all of mankind had the pagan idea that the world is under the control of the mighty Zeus, and the warring Gods of Artemis and Apollo.   These stories amazed a young Derek.   Today, after the night I had acknowledge the reality of “forces” over which we have no control.  The example for me, is my inability to prevent hurt.  A force sent to someone they say with care, but only cause confusion and hurt.   My mind goes in so many directions, I watch the news and I see the faces of starving children.   This is one of those forces as well.   I mean there are a million people starving but the fact is there is more than enough food in the world to provide every person in every country food.  There are invisible forces that seem to be beyond our control.   Seems we face things beyond our control at times.   At times when they are just pushed onto me, I hate when someone is hurting, when my friends are hurting, and someone caused that hurt, and I am left helpless.   So in these time I let go of any fear, and place my trust in a higer power.  Please continue keeping me in your thoughts.  I remember reading and enjoying “The 72 Names of God” the trick to it is not just reading it, but living it.  It’s been almost a year since I read it, and I’m still trying. I’m thinking this would really be wonderful if I could all the time.  The book talks about our purpose in life being to find the Light that was hidden at the moment of Creation.   Finding the positve out of the negative.  Funny how I keep coming back to the light!   Only if we can find the hiding spot can the purpose be fulfilled.  The hiding spot being our negative traits that’s buried inside.  Guess that’s when life gently knocks us on the head.   I’ve got so many damn bruises on my head from ignoring it.  Not sure what I’m trying to say.  But I sure know I’d like to get rid of all the negative forces that seem to be out there.   It’s been cold today, but I enjoyed it. “Let the sunshine In”, been singing that a lot lately.”  Also been putting my suns up around the house.

~ by deveil on AprilUTCb000000pmTue, 15 Apr 2008 21:32:54 +000008 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “It’s dark outside”

  1. We can’t end all the hurt in the world, and to think you can go through life without hurting anyone at all is an altruistic ideal. Just remember, through the darkness comes the light, and that light comes from you. It seems the more I ponder my life and self, the closer the darkness comes. I know who I am and what I’ve done, and I just try not to repeat those mistakes. There is no use in beating myself up for the past. Like Dionne says, keep smiling, keep shining, knowing you can always count on me, for sure, that’s what friends are for….

  2. Don’t you remember that old song that had the words, “Let the sun shine, let the sun shine in….the sun shine in….” So, Let it.

  3. hohoho
    but they are quite alive and powerful as the human archtypes!
    kids have quick attaction to the Gods/Myths because they have truth in them.

  4. That fact that you’re writing like this is an inspiration. Into the light, my friend, into the light.

  5. But as the old saying goes, you’ll never see the light if you don’t go through the dark. I loved this piece. Well done. I think, of late, I’ve been embracing the darkness to readily.

  6. I hear what you are saying Derek, and it’s something I struggle with as well. I guess I look at it two ways. One, we are human. By nature we are not always going to measure up to our potential. I think if we realize that, have good intentions, operate from those good intentions, and constantly try to work against the negative forces etc. we will do *okay*. Maybe better than okay. We may not make things perfect every time, but we will usually make enough, and have enough to keep going and offer some to those who need it. We need to learn to reconcile the times we can’t.

    The other way that I look at it, and it may sound pretty dark, but stay with me here. Our base human nature is where we begin at. Our survival level responses and actions. That’s not particularly a great place to aspire to, because there would be no growth involved. Instead, moving beyond our base instincts and human nature, and trying for something that is outside and greater than ourselves means we can transcend base human responses. It’s a life long goal and by its nature, as long as we are alive, we need to keep working towards it.

    Just another way of looking at the same old questions:) Take care buddy.

Leave a Reply

 
