Mama at Thanksgiving

mom.jpg

I decided this week I’ll write about being thankful for my family.  I just got back from four days in Georgia for Thanksgiving with my family.   Tonight I thought I’d write about my mom.  She’s just a sweet southern woman, with the grace of Paula Dean in many ways, true southern woman.   She loves her children, sometimes I think we are her life.  I got home Wednesday night, and she was over at my sister’s house within a few minutes of me arriving.   She sat around with Sherry and me and we chatted most of the night.   Thanksgiving I only got to see her briefly because we spent the day with my dad, she was over bright and early the day after Thanksgiving and spent most of the day with us.   She and I run around to Fitzgerald to see my brother, and did a little shopping.   My favorite moments are always when I get her off alone and can just catch up.   She’s the most loving woman I know, straight from the heart.   She would do anything for any of us, and her grandchildren too, who are her life as well.   Sometimes I wonder what truly makes her happy besides us.   She hurts when we hurt and is happy when we are happy.   We had a big bonfire last night and she stayed up with us the whole night, making sure she got everything out of fridge and warmed back up.   We all sat in a circle and was mesmerized by the fire.   Something about fires in our backyards have always been soothing to us.   We all smelt like wood smoke today, I probably still smell that way.    I love her with all of my heart.   I wish I could have spent more time with her while I was home, but am happy for every minute I got with her.  Sometimes I wish I could go back and relive moments from the past, old Thanksgivings, she knows my favorite thing she cooks is her chicken and dumplings, and she brought over a huge pot of them yesterday.   Its was quite comforting.   I really did eat way too much.   Love you mom!

~ by deveil on NovemberUTCb000000pmSat, 24 Nov 2007 23:39:10 +000007 19, 2007.

3 Responses to “Mama at Thanksgiving”

  1. What a sweet lady. Plus she makes chicken and dumplings!

  2. What a nice post! 🙂

  3. You’re the sweetest dumpling in her eyes! heh!

Leave a Reply

 
