Chronicles of Narnia

narnia.jpg

I wrote about books of my childhood last night so decided to re-read a classic book from it.  I revisited one of my favorites, one filled with with fantasy, of a family of two brothers and two sisters, just like my family. I think I got more out of it now as an adult than I did a child. C.S. Lewis’s “Chronicles of Narnia” is the book I’m talking about. What comes to mind for me after reading this again is the ability to tell between good and evil. We do this by the things we focus our spiritual eyes on. If we set our eyes on money, for example, we may have the good life for a while, but our judgement will become clouded. We’ll make choices that defy our own values-choices that may devastate our families and destroy us in the end. What am I saying? I guess don’t love money. Back to the book, Edmund’s lust for sweets leads him to betray his beloved brother and sisters. Eustace’s desire for the dragons gold eventually turns him into a dragon. Greed overcomes Prince Caspian on Deathwater Island as he dreams of the power its magic water bring him.

Food, money, power-whereever we focus our spiritual eyes determines what we desire, and whether our lives are filled with light or filled with darkness. Quoting my Sunday School teacher as a child, “The lamp of the body is the eye. If therefore your eye is good, your whole body will be full of light”.  Here it is almost spooky Halloween, I find a bit of struggle between dark and light in my own life.   I guess there will always be a bit of a struggle.  I have to think more of where I may be going with this entry.  Sit with it as I was told by one of my teacher’s in this thing called life.

Other than that I revisited my old college days by talking to one of my old friends, one from my college days.  I havn’t seen him since college.   I’ll have to review my journal and see if I’ve written about him already.   We were actors together in college.   Sang in the show choir together up from Six Flags in Atlanta down to Disney World in Orlando.  We even lived together up in the mountains one summer and experieced some wonderful times up there as well.   He’s coming home to Folkston in a few weeks for a family reunion and is going to stop by, so I’m excited to see him and catch up.   We also worked together in college as waiter’s.   I may write an entry about ole Wylie tomorrow.   But for now it’s time for me to eat some dinner.

~ by deveil on OctoberUTCb000000pmTue, 30 Oct 2007 18:18:55 +000007 19, 2007.

2 Responses to “Chronicles of Narnia”

  1. So, what does it mean that I’ve never read any of the books? Bad boy, I am. Either that or just plain old hiding out under a rock.

  2. I have done that myself where I have gone back to re-read a book from years past and it always turns out the book was better the second time around, or that there was an “A-ha” or “Eureka” discovery.

Leave a Reply

 
