Go back in time

What was your favorite bedtime story as a child?  I grew up with Dr. Seuss, my mom must have got me all the Dr. Seuss books when I was growing up.  When I was a child I had a problem that many kids probably face, that was nightmares.  After I got this book, I started changing those creatures in my nightmares from monsters that were going to hurt me to monsters that were my friends.  This was my favorite book growing up.  I also loved “The Velveteen Rabbit” which I think I loved even more as an adult.  I loved being read too, and reading. 

As an adult , have you shared that favorite bedtime story with a anyone?  I got my niece Autumn the book “The Velveteen Rabbit”, and Eli the leapster edition of “Where the Wild Things Are”.  The first book I read was “Island of the Blue Dolphins”, can’t wait to give that book to Autumn soon.  I also loved “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe”.

  Cover for the book 'Where the Wild Things Are'  

“The wild things roared their terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth
and rolled their terrible eyes and showed their terrible claws
but Max stepped into his private boat and waved goodbye
and sailed back over a year and in and out of weeks and through a day
and into the night of his very own room, where he found his supper waiting for him
and it was still hot.”—Where the Wild Things Are

I”m feeling wild.  I’m feeling tired.  I’m just feeling so many different things, but hard putting my finger on all the feelings.  I won the pumpkin decorating contest we had a work today, 2 hours off early whenever I want, that was pretty cool.  Through with choir practice, Heroes if off, kind of watching Journeyman on the side.  I think the guy who plays the journeyman is quite hunky, loved him when he played on the HBO series “ROME”.   So guys what do you remember about the first books you remember reading or being read?  My mind is wandering too much, time for me to read other blogs and quit writing tonight.

~ by deveil on OctoberUTCb000000pmMon, 29 Oct 2007 21:18:55 +000007 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “Go back in time”

  1. Oh wow! I so remember that book from school, and the pictures especially.

    There was a book I loved to read in grade school about a woman that was a teacher by day, and a witch by night. I cannot remember the name of it thought. I’ll have to do some research.

  2. Favorite children’s story? Haven’t thought about that in a long time. But hands down it was always Winnie the Pooh. Especially Tiger…And yes I have passed it on. When my friend Karen had her twins, I bought them the hardcover collection.

  3. those are all good stories and bring back warm memories
    my favorite bed time story was The Phantom Tollbooth – but it is a lousy bed time story as it got me wound up to here more!

  4. I can honestly say that my parents never read me a bedtime story or not that I recall (which would have put me under 4years old anyway). Its probably why over half of us in our family aren’t the most avid readers. But they did the best they could having 6 of 7 kids essentially in short succession.

  5. My parents never read me a bedtime story either. Nobody did that for kids back home when I was young. The first book I remebered to read was a book of learning to count numbers.

  6. As a child, I used to love “Le Petit Prince”. My eldest sister used to read it to me in both English & French. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
