Live Life

Earlier today I had posted a email someone had sent me, as the day went by, it was early, it was sad, it had a nice message, but I decided it was a good message, but it was just sad.I went to the bookstore this weekend and was thumbing through introductions trying to find something when I came across this sentence, a sentence that just keeps coming back to me in one way or another. “Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and go do that, because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”  Seems in the last couple of years this sentence has been coming right at me through the people I meet, my thoughts, and now even the books I open at the bookstore. Guess I really needed this message, I know this sentence could change my life. Suddenly my life up till this point makes sense in a way that kind of makes my stomach turn a little. Why you ask? Well I’m realizing I’ve been living a script written for me by someone else. I’m not going to go in great detail on this, maybe later. Made short it seems most of my life I have been asking the world to tell me what to do with myself. But the so called scripts they handed me I simply could not bring myself to play for to long. Hope this doesn’t sound negative, but in a world of posers, they can’t do anything but tell you to pose yourself. Somethings calling for me to come on out of ME. Life worth living that’s what I’m looking for. I’ve been talking about beginnings and endings lately, someone sent me something the other day and since I love to blog I enjoyed it, they said don’t think of it as a beginning or ending, just another chapter in your life. I liked that. 

 What would a life worth living look like for you?

~ by deveil on OctoberUTCb000000pmTue, 16 Oct 2007 15:24:31 +000007 19, 2007.

4 Responses to “Live Life”

  1. Hi Derek,
    It did have a good, positive message as does this entry. The sentence that follows me is similar “Life is a journey, not the destination”. We’re not on the earth long enough so we have to live life to its fullest! I’m not sure what a life worth living would look like for me. Maybe I’m living it, partially at least, raising my kids to become responsible young adults. Once they’re on their own I know a new chapter will begin for me.

  2. Funny how it takes a slightly different way of putting it for each of us. I’m not sure I’ve found the correct wording for me, but it always seems to come down to: “to thine own self, be true.”

  3. A life worth living…hmmm! One where everyone doesn’t take everything so seriously and literal at times. One of understanding, of peace, trust, openness, and love. Simple eye?!

  4. And I was just thinking the other day while I was driving to work: “If I die this moment, will I be satisfied?” And my answer was yes. I wouldn’t have the chance to say my final goodbyes to my loved ones, but it’s still a yes.

    Well, I’m not sure if that has anything to do with your message Derek, but I’m sure it does have a connection somewhat or else it would not have popped into my head. heh! We get all sorts of stimulations from the outside, but everything that’s important to us [and to life] comes from within. At least I would like to believe that.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

 
