Statue of Liberty

ladyliberty.jpg

This is one of my favorite pictures I’d taken on a magical trip to New York years ago.   This city was almost one of make believe.  I’ve never seen anything so big. 

THE NEW COLOSSUS Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame, With conquering limbs astride from land to land; Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame. “Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless,tempest-tost to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”   Emma Lazarus

I wish I were there right now at the top of her beautiful head looking out at the amazing site.   When I went it was July and way too hot, they weren’t letting people up that height because of the temperature.   Today I feel myself visiting places in my head that make me smile.   Where am I, I’m actually at the Jacksonville Public Library.   It was a long day but I made it through, I’ve got dinner in the crockpot waiting for me when I get home, and I’ll probably watch “Private Practice”   it’s the new spinoff show of Grey’s Anatomy, set in L.A.   I watched the first episode last week.   I even did a little jiggy dance Brett.   I know I’ve been thinking a lot so it’s time to try and rest the head for a while and just relax, and maybe do a jiggy dance or a few.   I do close the blinds though.   We’re halfway through the week, woo hoo!

~ by deveil on OctoberUTCb000000amWed, 03 Oct 2007 11:34:04 +000007 19, 2007.

9 Responses to “Statue of Liberty”

  1. She is a lovely reminder of the beauty of the French nation and her people. This ‘bash france’ mentality is so Bush/Limbaugh. Brianless idiots.

  2. NYC is such a great place. I need to get back there.

  3. I was living in a Staten Island apartment down by the ferry overlooking the harbor for Lady Liberty’s 100th anniversary. What a weekend that was. Revisiting that time and place in my head always makes me smile.

  4. I have yet to visit NYC (not counting layovers at the airports). The Statue of Liberty would be my first visit. I thought you could no longer go inside her to the top, though?

  5. I went to visit the Statue of Liberty back in the summer of 1989. She was just refurbished and was in all her glory. I have photos stored somewhere.

  6. It was a special experince to visit the Statue of Loberty back in 1994 as well. By the way, we want some pics of your jiggy dance!

  7. Hi Derek! I’m stopping by for a quick hello, I’ll be back later to catch up on your last few posts. Have a great day!!

  8. I will never forget the pulse-racing trip up into the torch during my first, and only, visit in spring 1978. And now that it’s closed “for good,” makes it even that more of a horrah moment.

  9. Great picture.
    I’ve yet to make it to the Statue, only admiring her from afar.

    Jiggy Dancin Derek? I you need to share those with us 😉

Leave a Reply

 
