Fine Friday and In Darkness I find Light

ltnlogo.gif

I’ve been talking about darkness and light lately, so I thought I’d write today about a cause that is dear to my heart.   I’m doing the Light the Night Walk next week, my goal is only $300.   I don’t usually put stuff like this on my blog, but it is a part of me so I’ve decided too, I should have done it sooner, but I thought I’d be able to raise it in time.   In darkness I find light once again.   We all know someone with cancer, I’m walking this for those I have lost, and for those I have in my life that are fighting it today.   My first and only still best friend was in eighth grade, David, I’ve written about him a good bit, we’re still best friends to this day.   His girlfriend and later fiancé had leukemia, she fought a strong battle.   She went into remission.  David and her got engaged.   But with a few years it came back, she still fought like a soldier, but the second time Margaret lost the fight.   It amazes me that every 5 minutes someone is diagnosed with cancer, and every 10 minutes someone loses the fight.  My friend and cowork Cyndi also just went through this fight, a long one, but is in remission now and doing wonderful.  She inspired me to do this walk for all.  My dad is going through a type of chemo now, and so is my friend Brett.   No one that reads this has to give, but your support means a lot to me.   You don’t even have to give, but if you’d just put up a link in an entry if you know someone or have lost someone or anything that you could think of to help, or join your local chapter in your city.   I plan on taking lots of pictures of the balloons rising.  My personal webpage is

http://www.active.com/donate/ltnJackso/2220_deveal

Thanks for your support in the past, present, and the future in everything that has been me. On my fine Friday I posted Bob Harper, wonder if we’re related, but there are lots of Harper’s out there.   Anyway I love the show “The Biggest Loser”, and he’s just so great to those folks and really helps inspire them and keeps them going.   I think he’s an awesome trainer.  Someone asked me if I could have any celebrity walk the walk with me who it would be, and couldn’t think of anyone other than old Bob, I’m sure he’d keep me moving.

~ by deveil on SeptemberUTCb000000amFri, 21 Sep 2007 08:30:46 +000007 19, 2007.

4 Responses to “Fine Friday and In Darkness I find Light”

  1. thanks too my five anonomous supporters, you know who you are!

  2. O he’s a hotty! And good for you for supporting this cause!

  3. It’s great to hear of so many people supporting a cause. I hope you’re having a great weekend so far.

  4. Good luck with raising the money. I would give if I had the money. I’m still a student, so I don’t have much to give.

Leave a Reply

 
