If your happy and you know it clap your hands!

For as long as I can remember I’ve always been a smiler.  When I was really little my mom always told me stories about how people would come up to me and say let me see that pretty smile.  Earlier this week I was speaking to my mom on the phone, and she was asking me how I was doing, and I told her doing good, she was like really?   I said have you ever known me to complain?   She said no.    Your a lot like me you keep it all inside and smile on the outside.   I laughed and told yes I was a lot like her, but I was happy.   Doesn’t take a lot to make me happy.   Today I church the first song, I heard this voice in my head telling me not to sing, that I couldn’t sing.  Why do you even want to.   So I didn’t really sing, or I wasn’t feeling it.   But the second song, and had told myself whatever that voice was, I wasn’t listening to it, whether I can sing good or not, I was going to sing with spirit in my voice, I don’t really know if it sounded that good to everyone around me, but the voice I heard was spirtfilled, everyone’s voices were.   It made me glad.   Our pastor has been away for General Synod, you can check out more about our church at www.ucc.org Anyway our pastor this week was one of our members Pastor John gave the sermon, and for the children’s sermon which we had no children there today, well I guess in a way we are all children, so we sang If your happy and you know it clap your hands.   Then he also had a great sermon that really spoke to me, it was about singing, and how to sing.   It really touched me, and thought wow, that’s what I was just going through in my head just a few minutes ago while I was singing.    It was good seeing everyone, I have been away a bit lately.   We went and saw the new Harry Potter Movie tonight, I enjoyed it cause I’m just one of those crazy muggles, and a Harry fanatic, can’t wait for the last book to come out in two weeks.   Anyway it’s been a great weekend, hope everyone had a nice one and if your happy and you know it clap your hands, or stomp your feet!

faces-014.jpg

~ by deveil on JulyUTCb000000pmSun, 15 Jul 2007 19:50:21 +000007 19, 2007.

8 Responses to “If your happy and you know it clap your hands!”

  1. Consider my hands clapped and feet stomped!

    Your piece made me think about how up until a few years ago, my specific response whenever I was in a bad mood, stressed, not happy, etc. was always to smile, and offer a typically insincere “oh yeah, things are great”.

    It’s been since I very consciously let that go, and now respond more to how I am actually feeling, has that been something that I view as much less stressful, and surprisingly, so do those around me, who most have said they knew anyway if I happened to be faking it.

    For me it was all about trusting those around me to experience both the good and not so good. When I was able to do that, in a funny way it resulted in more of the good.

  2. YOU’RE always the SMILER!! That’s what I love about you.

  3. Little kids and “big kids” can’t help but smile when they sing that!

  4. What a nice smile! Hope that you like the Harry Potter movie. They cut lots of stuffs from the book to make the movie short and tight. By the way, will try to e-mail you the instruction to make the dragon cake.

  5. Clap. Clap.
    Well this post made me smile a real smile.
    Woofy picture!! We’re still waiting for your shot like Mikes from last week 🙂

  6. Smiles are contagious and yours is no exception. Clappity-clap. 😀

    Speaking of church and songs, this past weekend at our UCC, the choir director decided to play some Catholic Classics. The title almost sounds like an album in the works.

  7. I can’t tell you how many times, hundreds, I have sang this song….growing up. I’ve forgotten it. But I need to remember. Quickly.

  8. Too cute Derek!! Love your smile most definitely. I’m also glad that you’re happy. Everyone deserves that much.

Leave a Reply

 
