Thursday Thoughts

titian.jpg

Yep, I’ve been looking back, looking at now, and looking at the future. My blog used to be named Past, Present, and Future, when I saw this painting, I thought this would have been perfect for it. In his painting, “An Allegory of Prudence,” 16th century Venetian artist Titian portrayed Prudence as a man with three heads. One head was of youth facing the future, another was of a mature man eyeing the present, and the third was of a wise old man gazing at the past. Over their heads Titian wrote a Latin phrase that means, “From the example of the past, the man of the present acts prudently so as not to imperil the future.”   I think we need this kind of wisdom to overcome the anxiety created by our past failures and the fear of repeating them in the future-an anxiety that keeps us from living to the fullest now. Sometimes I try to forget my past and anticipate the future. My memory hasn’t been erased but I do feel more free of any guilt I may have felt from some of my past actions. I have to forgive myself, and hope that I have been forgiven by any I may have hurt, but know in my heart I have been forgiven by God.     I believe with His help I will be able to live fully in the present and I will gain wisdom from the past and face the future with courage. There’s a saying, can’t remember where it came from but it goes “Don’t ever let your bleak past overshadow a bright future.” I like that. There are still things I need to let go of that hold me back.  Funny how times I think deep, and times I don’t.  Something did happen back home in Georgia, that has had me thinking on life.  I think that’s why Tony’s entry hit me so hard yesterday. I hope everyone has a blessed and wonderful weekend almost upon us.  It’s Mike’s nephew Asher’s 4th birthday party on Saturday so we’re going to get wet at Adventure Landing, hope it doesn’t rain.

~ by deveil on JulyUTCb000000pmThu, 12 Jul 2007 18:19:53 +000007 19, 2007.

3 Responses to “Thursday Thoughts”

  1. another great read
    and
    I love the painting! In Jungian psychology and in many mthyos there is the concept of the triple god or goddess – the youth, the patron, and the magus. this painting covers it well.

  2. YUM! Wet, hairy, musty bears! W-O-O-F!!!! Don’t have too much fun in the water ‘D.’

    Excellent post. I honestly has never seen that Titian painting. I love the symbolism behind it. And you’re right…it would have been perfect for your old blog. Any idea what the bottom portion of the painting is suppose to represent?

  3. YUM! Wet, hairy, musty bears! W-O-O-F!!!! Don’t have too much fun in the water ‘D.’

    Excellent post. I honestly has never seen that Titian painting. I love the symbolism behind it. And you’re right…it would have been perfect for your old blog. Any idea what the bottom portion of the painting is suppose to represent?

Leave a Reply

 
