Questions to mom and spotlight on another Blogger Tbird (Wil)

dereks_mom.jpgp1010002.jpg

I was lucky enough to have a fellow blogger and artist to comment on one of my entries about my mom, not only did he write some sweet things about my mom but he took one of my pictures I had taken of my mom, and made it art with some of his creations, one called Scinttilation.  I love his blog and some of his awesome creations.  So check him out over at http://saturdaynightsoulsoup.blogspot.com/, it’s an awesome site.   Here’s what he created with the picture I took of my mom.  Also of his picture Scinttilation.   My mom loved it, it was funny because this was one of her mom’s favorite flowers.  Funny how this psychic man picked just the right flower to put with my mom. I also wanted to add his comment

Derek,

Thanks for the complement on “my creations”. I put them out there (visual and audio collages, tweaked up pix I take), but rarely get any feedback as to whether anyone actually enjoys them. The music today actually starts a long span, matching a life journey I am beginning today. To paraphrase the old Confucian saying: “a journey of 1,000 miles starts…with a single bowl of Saturday Soup for the Soul”.

I have been to your site before and left a comment or two. I chose to leave the reply on this post because I have a soft spot in my heart for all the for mothers fo this world, and your mother radiates beauty in this photograph. You ask “What do you think, what is your focus today, regardless of your feelings? Is it of gratitude?”. I will answer your question: “Yes…I am grateful every day for everything and for every blessing that comes my way, and I become more grateful with each passing day of life”. Two of the songs coming up in about 6 or 7 bowls of Saturday Soup are titled “Be Grateful” and “Gratitude”.

Here is a link to a quick collage that your words inspired of your beautiful mother in my garden http://www.fileden.com/files/2006/12/28/566743/Dereks%20Mom.jpg

The Rhododendron she is placed in front of is named “Scintillation”. I hope that both you and she enjoys it. You look a lot like your mother. Cheers, Will.

Also I did another Questions to Mom, and here they are

1. When you were a girl, what was your favorite music you liked to listen too, did you have any favorite singers? Or someone you just loved to listen too?

I LIKED ELVIS WHEN I WAS A TEENAGER. I DON’T REMEMBER LISTENING TO MUSIC WHEN I WAS A SMALL CHILD. I REMEMBER LISTENING TO THE SQUEAKING DOOR WITH MY GRANDMOTHER WHEN I WAS SMALL ON THE RADIO.
2. What was your first apartment or house like after you got married to daddy?
MY FIRST APARTMENT WAS IN TURKEY. IT WAS PRETTY BIG FOR TWO PEOPLE. IT WAS UPSTAIRS IN A BIG BUILDING. IT HAD TWO BEDROOMS, BIG LIVING ROOM, DINING ROOM COMBINED AND THE KITCHEN.
WHEN IT WAS COLD WEATHER, WE PRETTY MUCH HAD TO STAY IN ONE ROOM SINCE ALL WE HAD TO HEAT IT WITH WAS A LITTLE SPACE HEATER HEATED WITH KEROSENE.

ALL OF OUR FURNITURE WAS BOUGHT SECOND-HAND. THE MILITARY NON COMMISSIONED OFFICERS HAD TO PAY FOR ANY FURNITURE TO BE SHIPPED OVER THERE SO WHEN ANYONE SHIPPED OUT THEY WOULD PURCHASE FURNITURE FROM EACH OTHER.

I DYED SHEETS TO GO OVER THE WINDOW IN THE LIVING ROOM. I THINK THEY WERE YELLOW. WE HAD SMALL SHAGGY RUGS PLACED UNDER THE COFFEE TABLE IN THE LIVING ROOM. IT SEEMS AS IF THE COUCH WAS KIND OF BROWN.

THE CURTAINS IN OUR BEDROOM WERE WHITE PLASTIC AND WE HAD A CHENELLE BEDSPREAD ON THE BED.

IT WASN’T THE NICEST PLACE WE EVER LIVED BUT IT WAS HOME AND WE WERE HAPPY THERE.

OUR APARTMENT HAD A LITTLE BALCONY ON THE OUTSIDE OF IT AND THAT IS WHERE I WOULD USUALLY WAIT FOR YOUR DADDY TO COME HOME FROM WORK IN THE AFTERNOON. THAT WAS WHERE WE STORED THE WOOD TO MAKE A FIRE UNDER THE HOT WATER HEATER TO WARM OUR WATER UP FOR TAKING A BATH.
3. Did you celebrate the 4th of July when you were a little girl, can you remember the first time you saw fireworks?
WE DID CELEBRATE THE 4TH OF JULY WHEN I WAS A SMALL CHILD. SOMETIMES WE WOULD COME TO TOWN WHEN THEY HAD THE FIREWORKS. AT THAT TIME, THERE WAS A SWIMMING POOL LOCATED AT THE PARK. SOMETIMES WE WOULD GO THERE.

SOME OF OUR FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS WOULD BRING SPARKLERS AND FIRECRACKERS OVER FOR US TO ENJOY. I WAS ALWAYS SCARED OF THEM.

4. Did you ever disobery your mother?
We did not fuss. She was real clear about what she expected out of me when I was a child and I followed her instructions real clearly cause I didn’t want to cross her.

About the only time I can remember going behind her back was before I started dating and I double-dated with Betty Sue Smith and her boyfriend on Sunday afternoon. She fixed me up with one of her boyfriend’s friends. I think his name was Larry Dismuke. By the time I got home, somehow she already knew so they started letting me date on Sunday afternoon. I was in the 11th grade.

5. If Nana could come back for a day and you could spend one day with her what would you do?

If I could spend one more day with her I would tell her how much I appreciate all she did for me and what she meant to me. I would also ask her a lot of questions about her life. I don’t think she would answer though. There was a lot about her she kep silent about.

~ by deveil on JuneUTCb000000amSat, 30 Jun 2007 04:20:36 +000007 19, 2007.

8 Responses to “Questions to mom and spotlight on another Blogger Tbird (Wil)”

  1. ah dates on Sunday afternoon…
    What a sweet photo of your Mom.

  2. What a tender blog post this is. I am sure that your mother is very touched by your public expression of love and appreciation that you show towards her. Each generation carries such a treasure chest of memories and experiences, many that are culturally unique to each generation. Example: my mother, who passed away a year ago, used to say that the best stove for cooking on was a big cast iron wood stove which I cannot imagine trying to use/master (are three logs too many… is one log enough???). Learn as much as you can from her: both the big things, and the trivial. When she is gone, on some far off future day, the more detail that you have within you, the easier it will be for you to find a degree of peace, as she will continue to live on within you. And like your mom, I too am touched by your kind words! Cheers to you and to yours, Will

  3. Derek, I just noticed your phrase “and she thought it was a message from her mom”. Well, for all we know, it might have been (it is not for me to say). This touches on a topic I have not yet publicly blogged, about except for mentioning once that I will someday: the story of how I came to be baptized in the early 1990’s while living in San Francisco. A big part of the story has to do with my being unusually receptive to things of the spirit. All religions and even secularists, describe this “gift’ (I use the word “gift” in the sense that Paul describes how each person is endowed with spiritual gifts – in Corinthians I think). One of the odd things in my life has been how many times I will be chit chatting with a stranger somewhere, and at some point I will say something inconsequential, and they will pause and ask me if I am a priest, or something. Before I was baptized, this question would always blind strike me from way out of left field. I was clueless as to why strangers would repeatedly ask me that, since I felt myself to be anything but religious. I think that I was even asked that once in a leather bar. To describe it in a Christian paradigm, the Holy Spirit kept knocking on my door and ringing my doorbell, and it took me decades before I finally got curious about what all the racket was about, got up from my arm chair, and opened the door.

    Now days, I am very comfortable with the fact that a part of me comes across as other worldly, and receptive to spiritual concepts and promptings, which presumably, explains why a picture of your mother, and her face, prompted me to to think “oh, she needs to be placed in my garden, in front of this this luscious crown jewel Rhododendron. Cheers.

  4. His photography and art work are amazing. He’s been such a faithful follower of my site.

  5. Thanks for the blog recommendations. I always love this segment on your mom and her responses!! PS…like the new header pic.

  6. Hey, I added you to my blogroll. Could you take a look and see if my site is worthy to be on your roll? 🙂

  7. hohoho I got through!
    I think I ‘solved the problem’ by putting your blog separate from ther rest, which makes you even more unique and special to me. 🙂
    I hope now I can read you more often.
    thankyou for this post , which was tender.

  8. Will is sweetheart isn’t he? A nice composition indeed. Love that picture of your mum!

    It’s wonderful to see and hear how close you are to your mother. This day and age, I think it’s a rare and a very special thing. Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
