Blue Heron

I once heard it’s good luck when one of these fellows come for a visit, the other day I was feeling a little blue, I went to one of my special places, and in the lonliness of it all, here the blue heron comes to say everythings going to be ok.  Heron: is associated with morning, and is the first bird to salute the dawn. A heron also tied in with regeneration of life. A heron provides for its young like a stork. It is associated with longevity, silent memory, overcoming danger, indiscretion, dual nature: because of it amphibious nature, and melancholy. The heron is sacred to the Muses and is related to priesthood. Herons are seen as a favorable of men. When heron’s leave the marsh and fly above the clouds they announce the coming of a storm.…signifying the world of life and light, as opposed to that of death and darkness. For the same reason the snow-white heron was much esteemed,… and the blue heron for luck in life.  So I felt like after seeing this, I wasn’t so blue after all.   I think I was just feeling a little blue because my man has been feeling blue for a while.   But after a visit with the therapist I felt better.  Here’s a picture of the blue heron.

heron.jpg

~ by deveil on MarchUTCb000000pmTue, 20 Mar 2007 18:26:00 +000007 19, 2007.

8 Responses to “Blue Heron”

  1. Whew, that typestyle and green color is hard to read in “Bloglines”….but looks OK on your own site. If a blue heron is good luck, then I’m in good shape….see them regularly and did growing up in Idaho too. Did you know I’m coming back to Orlando TWICE in April??

  2. Hey D…You know I am just a call away if you ever feel you have to talk. I am an open door for Mike too. I know the whole experience! Knock ’em dead the rest of the week.

  3. The Blue Heron is a beautiful bird. I hope all is well buddy. You’re an inspiration to many 😉

  4. What a beautiful picture. 😉 I hope you are in better spirits today Derek.

  5. Shouldn’t you be using a blue font for this particular entry? hehe. I’m glad you’re feeling better Derek. I hope Mike is, too. Feeling blue sometimes is necessary I guess, cuz after that, one will feel all refreshed. Hope you both are having a great Wednesday.

  6. i live a couple blocks from the LA river…and we have a pond in the back yard…every now and then one of these shows up to do some fishing of the gold fish in the pond….have posted pics of it in the past on my blog…stay tuned for future pics when it shows up again.

  7. That’s a great photo of that Blue Heron. Now that I know it’s significance, I’ll be on the lookout for one. 🙂

    Hope the rest of your week is good, Derek. 🙂

  8. nice summary!
    in native american stories, the chief of herons would sometimes visit men to see how they would interact with them so later you may be rewarded for respect and honors given.

Leave a Reply

 
