Thoughts on a Sunday afternoon

afterrun.jpgsunda-034.jpgIt’s been a beautiful Sunday afternoon, I’m sitting here in peace, listening to http://allthingsbutnone.com/journal/ reflecting on the day so far with Abby by my side.   U.C.C. had our 4th anniversary of the church today, we had a guest speaker, Mike took pictures, I sang a special with 4 other’s.   The big picture for me today is to look out on this peaceful day as the sun shines down on my skin, with a  cool whisp of winter blowing, and the energy I feel from nature around me, the calming effect of the breeze and the St. John’s river.  After a good meal at church, we had potluck, I got home and ran my 5 miles while Mike napped on the couch.  It’s been a pleasant weekend, yesterday I took Abby to the groomers and she got a little beauty treatment, shampoo, nails, and ears.  She’s been so prissy and loving, and she smells wonderful.  She looks like a million buck, we just went and played outside, while Mike went to go check on Turk who has been feeling bad. As I ran I felt myself just surrendering  to a higher power.  Just saying O.K. God, I hear you, thank you, and I’ll do whatever you want.  I think we are all put here on this world for a purpose, not all will find this purpose, not all will find this peace or purpose but I can look into person’s eyes and know if they have found it.  I remember the first time I saw it and I’ve been looking for it ever since and will continue until I do.  We are also put here to react to one another.  To trust ourselves , others, and the goodness of life, and the good intentions God has for us.  It’s not easy though and problems will seem overwhelming and there will be days that scare us.  We may feel needy, scared, ashamed, or not want to get out of bed.  In these moments we may feel that things and people outside ourselves hold our key to happiness.  I’ve been told this over and over, now it’s time to believe it and realize that people or things can’t stop our pain or heal us. It is all up to us.  All change is left up to us and begins there.   I’ve been running now again for a little over a month, and I’ve got till March 10 for the Gater River run.   I’ve been getting so many compliments lately, mostly on how I’ve lost weight, I usually always drop a lot of weight quick when I start back running, it feels good, I’ve also been getting a few comments on the tan, yes I’ve been fake n baking.   Something about those rays are addictive.   Hope all are having a great weekend.

~ by deveil on FebruaryUTCb000000pmSun, 04 Feb 2007 20:38:02 +000007 19, 2007.

7 Responses to “Thoughts on a Sunday afternoon”

  1. LOL. Fake n Bake.

    You are so right, we do hold the keys to change and to our ultimate happiness. It’s taken me a while to learn that, but I’m getting there.

    Glad the running is helping you, the extra poundage sheds off of me too when running. Good luck with your running goal for March 🙂

  2. Dag, Derek – you’re looking good 🙂

  3. I am laughing…I noticed Josh was posting at 12:33am EST. I have an excuse…I am just getting home at this hour from working CAD. Off to bed.

    You’re looking good Derek. Shaved that head of yours didn’t you?! I simply have to get myself started back on my regiment for an hour a day at least, alternating lifting and cardio..perhaps the early morning hours. It will force me out of bed and maybe get my juices running for the rest of the day.

    Hugs.

  4. You KNOW you could be arrested for posting that pic of you… WOOF my friend…

    So – can I come to Jax to watch you run on the 10th?

  5. Sounds like one of those weekends where everything and nothing happened! 🙂

    To Abby: “Woof!” To Derek: “Woof Woof!!!” *Robert doing the howl*

    Hope you’re having a great day today!

  6. Looking good Derek. Love the shaved head!! Good luck with your run.

  7. Keep up the good work. You will be running the marathon in record time.

Leave a Reply

 
