Looking for my Gratitude Stone

Lately I’ve been looking for a gratitude stone.  It has to be special to me, because everytime I look at it, I’m supposed to think of something I’m thankful for.  I’ve been looking but not especially hard.  I remember picking up shells and making wishes on them.  Today I woke up not only loving myself but the whole world.   Funny how we have those days, when I lived a block from the beach I would have my morning walks, they would give me so much solace.   I remember finding shells that were special to me.  Telling myself with this shell I want to make a new life, one that will empower me to make whatever changes I need to in my life. I remember writing about this and those thoughts. I guess my belief’s. God’s Love is a given…it’s not something we earn, it’s not something we ever lose.. it is something we are born with and it’s always with us..  The rules handed down are rules of relationship  If we break God’s rules we don’t lose His love, we lose our trust in ourselves and our ability to believe in God.. we also lose our trust in others, we damage or destroy our relationships.  This is something I feel I’ve learned, not soon enough I add.  I’ve hurt people in my lifetime, that I’m not proud of.  I’ve also been hurt. If we break the rules of our relationship we lose each others trust.. but one never stops loving the other even if sometimes that is briefly turned to hate it is only the flip side of love and rarely ever last as hate.  What lasts and what is almost impossible to repair is broken trust.  God has loved us from the day we were born,  He does that with every new day He gives us to live; every situation He asks us to handle; and does that with ever person He brings into our lives.  I’m so thankful for all the people He’s brought into my life.  I truly believe that what we really are searching for in our lives is someone to whom we can say “I love you” and  feel the freedom to express that, and that the person will truly love us back.  Trust is so important.    This is why, once I decide to make a commitment to someone it is total commitment…it is not a guarantee that God will let us be together for life, but it is a guarantee that as long as God will let us be together I can be trusted to honor our commitments to each other.  That is what I am going to be about that is the promise I made with the shell when I picked it up today.  Just remember God loves you, now it’s up to you to find a way to carry out your mission in life within the confines of life.  Wow from gratitude stone to thoughts of a shell, sometimes I move from thought to thought like…. oh go ahead tell me….

~ by deveil on FebruaryUTCb000000pmThu, 01 Feb 2007 21:49:25 +000007 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “Looking for my Gratitude Stone”

  1. You just keep examining and exploring bud! That is what makes you special and what at least a few of us find endearing about you. Have a great Friday. If you have time this weekend call me.

  2. What a beautiful post Derek… give Mike a big hug for me… we need to get together soon – it has been too long… me up or you all down!

  3. I think the most precious shell or gratitude stone, is already in your pocket. It’s always been there. Yet nothing changes. The only thing that has changed is now that you have become aware that you possess it!

    xoxo

  4. Beautiful, Derek. And broken trust is one of the toughest things to overcome. I’m actually experiencing that journey right now. And I’m not so sure that it’s always a bad thing. Sometimes it’s an eye-opener; even when it’s people we love. For all have their limitations – and I suppose it’s good to know what they are? 🙂

  5. I love coming here to find these touching affirmations. I too have been thinking about my journey so far, and where life is taking me. It can be a bit daunting but exhilarating at the same time.

    I love the new header art, very hunky!

  6. […] about my gratitude stone, I had written a post a while back about Looking for my gratitude stone https://deveil.wordpress.com/2007/02/01/looking-for-my-gratitude-stone/  well I found it the other day running as you can see in my last post.   I’ve been […]

Leave a Reply

 
