Still thinking too much

The purpose of a man’s heart are deep waters, but a man of understanding draws them out. 

Lately it seems I’ve been doing some serious pondering. Life in general. Lessons, still learning them from day to day. “So I will always remind you of these things, even though you know them and are firmly established in the truth you now have” Powerful stuff huh. Yep from the bible, 2 Peter 1:12

The question was once asked Who do you want to be-the critic in the stands or the man in the arena? I’ve been thinking about how I’ve been living lately. Thinking about what holds me back. Sometimes I think it’s just me holding myself back. I don’t want to be the critic and tell someone how they or what was done wrong. But I do find myself doing exactly that, with the person I’m supposed to be caring most for, the person that I’m supposed to be seeing the way God does. I want to be in the arena. I want a worthy cause. I want to believe in myself. I have talents that I need to dare to believe in and go after. Seems so many times I find distractions to keep me away from going after the things in life I know I need to strive for. I’m a thinker, sometimes I can’t sleep for my head keeps going long after I lie down to rest. I want a stronger mind, I want a healthier body. It’s all up to me. Maybe it’s time for me to sit down and make a list. I also keep finding myself pulled in the past, sometimes I’m not even trying to go there, I’m pulled back by other’s wanting to revisit my past. Even though I feel I’ve moved on with many things, I find myself right back where I once was, maybe a little differently, but still there. Life is amazing, I feel so happy and so blessed but at times I find myself in places I really don’t care to be. Confusing entry now that I go back and read, maybe I need a nap. I havn’t slept good since Wednesday night.

~ by deveil on JanuaryUTCb000000amMon, 29 Jan 2007 00:50:26 +000007 19, 2007.

4 Responses to “Still thinking too much”

  1. Great post as always. You definitely have the gift of writing which comes out in your blog. It is hard to sometimes sort out our passions with our daily responsibilities. The past can hold you back, and this was a hard thing for me to change but I try everyday and am making headway. My resolution this year was to write down my goals for the year and promise to start projects and passions of mine that I used to never make time for. You’ll get there my friend if you allow yourself 🙂

  2. I’m like you, I think too much.
    Sometimes it takes me so long to make up my mind that it’s too late.

    We have to start small. But the most important is to start.

  3. Great post.

    And great new blog. I had no idea you were here now. AND at the other place? I’m confused (but that doesn’t take much).

  4. I think I used to think too much, too, but now I just watch TV and play video games… ehehe!

    The critic in the stands or the man in the arena? Why can’t we be both?!? We are our own friends and enemies. We all want to strive and succeed — in some things. Our society pushes us to be the ‘best’ regardless what we do. To me, I think it’s rubbish. It’s nice to find time to just sit down, and take in on the simple things that we already have.

    Happy Friday Derek!

Leave a Reply

 
