Teardrop

Slowly it slips                       and falls

         from the interior

         of the human soul,

a tunnel,

                   a passageway,

                                       a glimpse

into a tornado of feelings

whirling inside the heart

so beautiful

                    delicate

                                fragile

                                             and clear

uncapturable in its true form

the essence of all complete feelings.

For a moment

                     it dangles

                                   it hovers

                                                over the edge,

then

           ever so slowly,

           slides away into a destiny

           of nothing.   

I awoke from a dream the other night.  In the dream I saw a huge tear, who’s it was I’m not sure.  I observed the tear, and inside I saw a new galaxy.  It wasn’t a tear of sadness.  It was of life.  I saw myself in it.  I was happy and where I want to be.  So of course I woke up and wrote.  Writing first about the dream which ended up starting with Teardrop.  So first it was just about a dream, then the next morning after I was awake and much into the whole day.  I just focused more on a teardrop and what it does, and what it means, comparing it to feelings.  At first I wrote more of what a tear has meant for me over the years, but then the idea of the birth and life of a tear came to me, and it just kind of flowed I just visualized the significance of a tear drop… all the emotion and heart that is put into that tear as it leaves your body only to drip away into evaporation and nothingness not a trace that it even exhisted.  I used free verse also to give it a pattern.  I use this mostly now in my poetry, because I can create almost like a picture with my words something I’m trying to express. 

        

~ by deveil on JanuaryUTCb000000pmThu, 18 Jan 2007 14:17:02 +000007 19, 2007.

3 Responses to “Teardrop”

  1. I like to think that as the tear evaporates, all the sadness and pain that has caused it in your heart leaves also… I guess that is why I don’t brush them away… I leave them there in hopes that the pain will leave also…

  2. That was beautiful.

  3. Well said Spider, and beautiful poem Derek 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
