Beaulah


Wendy and I went to see our adopted grandmother today at Taylor Nursing home. We wrapped up a big bag of goodies for Ms. Beaulah. I held her hand as Wendy put the heart necklace around her neck. She said ya’ll are going to make me cry. We sat with her for about an hour. As we walked away we looked back as she sat with her decorated box with her head down. Wendy and I walked out with tears going down our eyes. There are so many forgotton people in nursing homes. Spending day by day with no visitors. It makes me so sad that so many are so lonely out there. My heart was full, but sad. I can’t wait to go back and see her again.

~ by deveil on DecemberUTCb000000amFri, 22 Dec 2006 00:33:00 +000006 19, 2007.

11 Responses to “Beaulah”

  1. My God – you are such a good man… what a wonderful thing to do…you made me cry…

  2. That was super, Derek!
    [Lemuel]

  3. Very sweet, you are a wonderful person.

  4. Derek…you nailed it. Some of those people in nursing homes will have no family visiting them for Xmas. What a neat thing to be involved in. Hugs big guy!

  5. You lovely man to do such a marvelous thing.
    The angels must be singing.

  6. This doesn’t surprise me about you.

    Thank you!

    It’s true that once people enter a home it’s as if they don’t exist anymore.

    Why?

    The people just moved to a new house that’s all. So why forget about them?

    The people that do that make me sick.

  7. THAT is such a sweet story! That makes me so sad and at the same time happy you went to go see her. I think you made her day!

    Makes me miss my grandparents 😦

  8. Nurses and other nursing home employees everywhere will echo your story. People seem to disappear in those places. Truly, literally, no friends or family. No one. No light. Bless you Derek!

  9. Ms. Beualah is so lucky to have “adopted” grandchildren like you.
    Merry Christmas

  10. I love your outlook on life. You remind me of the important things in life 🙂

    Hope you and your family have a Happy Holiday!!

  11. You have such a big heart in that chest bud. I think your body just fits aroudn it. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

 
