Yes, I want to grasp what life is really all abou…


Yes, I want to grasp what life is really all about. I want to see the “big picture”. Life hasn’t always been that way for me either. At one time I walked through life not really noticing much going on around me. I lived in a funny creative world when I was growing up, maybe because of all the facts of life I was told. Does anyone remember seeing your first seed as a child. When I was little the first seed I remember was a watermelon seed. When I first saw it I was not sure what to make of it. I was young and my papa showed them to me because we were about to plant a whole bunch of them in the ground. Then I watched as they began to sprout, then the little fruit, that grew and grew. Then there came the day to pick the heavy watermelon from the patch, we brougt it to Mema and Papa’s, he put it in the freezer for a short while and said we would eat it later. Then I bit into that wonderful fruit, and inside I saw all these seeds. I immediately put the watermelon down, and Papa wanted to know what was wrong. Well I had swalloled some seeds in my first bite and I told him with my eyes starting to get tears, “that I didn’t want a watermelon growing in my stomach”. He laughed his hearty laugh, and told me I didn’t have to worry about that, but to just spit the seeds out. Seems everyone joked me about watermelon seeds after that. Even my mom told me later that was how you get pregnant. If I eat a white watermelon seed I’ll have a little white baby, and if I eat a black watermelon seed I’ll have a little black baby. She said she ate a black and white one to have me, that’s why I was so dark. The funny things parents will tell children. When I saw the seed I perceived the watermelon. Isn’t this how it all works. It’s so easy to get stuck in the details of life and to miss the big picture. I know I’ve been guilty of actions without any regard to their future consequences. I guess seeing the big picture means learning to become the creator of our own fulfillment: to realize that the Light is the source of all joy. and to settle for nothing less! It means grasping the purpose behind a problem and the potential Light that awaits us when we confront our problems.
I really want to see the big picture. I want to see the effect of all my actions. I look back at all the chaos and crisis of my life and I wonder how much were just the effects of some of my actions, If I’m honest I’d say a large number of them. I don’t claim to have learned this lesson, but I sure hope I don’t have to keep repeating it.

~ by deveil on SeptemberUTCb000000pmWed, 27 Sep 2006 23:24:00 +000006 19, 2007.

4 Responses to “Yes, I want to grasp what life is really all abou…”

  1. This is why I love reading your blog, you are very wise and your stories are great the way you recall them.

    Derek just think if you could see the big picture what fun would that be. You’d know everything and all the players. What kind of fun would that be?

  2. Derek…I have found, speaking from experience, that we can critique ourselves to death and wonder what our actions really set forth. But by doing that, we stifle what can be and what more we have to offer. Am I making sense. I have done it so often and it hinders me from moving ahead. I can’t even count on my hands and feet anymore how many times I have questioned what the big picture is. I don’t think you or I will ever quite know that. I won’t deny I do it all the time, asking what the purpose of my life is. when you think about it, if you live life as who you are to the best of your ability, I think you really will ultimately reap the rewards.

    HugS!

  3. Ps…we still want to know if Mike’s clogs are in or out!!

  4. I wish my blog were half as interesting and thought provoking as yours… I love reading you Derek…

Leave a Reply

 
