My name is not Simon but I wish I knew his secret




When I was a kid my favorite show on television was “Simon in the Land of Chalk drawings” It was a old show from the UK, but came on good ole Captain Kangaroo. I lived in a land of imagination when I was little, and I loved my chalk board. I drew and looked for walls but never could find that land. Now today I’d be in trouble if I did find that land. Because I’d be doing chalk drawings all the time. Could you just imagine? “Well you know my name is Derek,
and the things I draw come true,
Oh pictures take me, take me over,
Climb the ladder with you.” Oh take me, take me take me too the land of hairy chalk drawings true.

~ by deveil on SeptemberUTCb000000pmTue, 05 Sep 2006 23:57:00 +000006 19, 2007.

15 Responses to “My name is not Simon but I wish I knew his secret”

  1. I don’t ever remembr “Simon” doing such hot drawings !!!

  2. My chalk drawings NEVER looked like this!

  3. LOL.
    This site just got amped up!
    That brings back a lot of memories.
    I liked Mike Myers version of Simon on SNL.

    Remember Romper Room? I see Derek, I see…

  4. … Hairy chalk drawings, huh? Indeed… A young-starter, I presume… (lol) 🙂

  5. I’ll take 3 please

  6. I laughed and drooled. Nice work. We need to get you a publisher.

  7. Oh baby, I’m drawing my hottest dreams now. I’ll tell you later if it works for me.

  8. Wow – I love art!

  9. This takes me back!?

    And the Captain?! I loved him!?

    Especially the ping pong balls. Here I go again with ping pong. I think I’m obsessed!? lol

    As for hairy, remember the Banana splits?! Big hairy cool dudes, all musicians!?

    lol

    Thanks for the memories!?

    (take it as you wish)

    lol

  10. Derek….
    If that’s a free-handed chalk drawing, wow! I can only imagine what it would have looked like with more refinement. I love it the way it is though!

  11. Wow. I haven’t thought of Simon and watching Captain Kangaroo in ages. 🙂

    And some nice pics, to boot.

  12. HMMMM, I need to go get some chalk!

  13. I remember that show! However, you’re newer chalk drawings are much more imaginative.

  14. I agree with Greg. I loved Simon, but your drawings (or is that drawrings?) are much hotter.

  15. Do U have a Facebook page that I can follow or Instagram-(or whatever site that you blog on?)

Leave a Reply

 
