V is for Vendetta


Mike bought the dvd “V for Vendetta” yesterday, as I sat on the computer, I heard him put the movie in. I’ve been wanting to see it since it first hit the movies, but we never went. I sat down beside him and we watched it together. I really loved the movie. It’s the perfect story for anyone who believes in fighting for what you believe in. I just wrote about Phantom of the Opera so another movie with a mask was just what I wanted. The main character wears a mask in the whole movie. He is no longer the flesh and bone under his costume (he even says so to Natalie Portman’s character, Evey), or whoever he was before the totalitarian/fashist government’s experiments messed him up. His whole life, his every being, is entirely focused on the single idea he’s fighting for. There is nothing left of V besides his message and knowing anything else about him would have detracted from that. There are moments of something that really touches me when Evey is imprisoned and reads these letters of a once imprisoned woman, that just hit me hard. I’m still trying to sit with it, so I’m not sure I’m explaining it that well.
We are simply left with the knowledge that from that point on, the world as we know it will be completely different and in the hands of the people. We don’t know exactly what they’ll do with it, but there’s a strong feeling of hope. It was really good, so I definitely recommend it.

~ by deveil on AugustUTCb000000amThu, 03 Aug 2006 01:10:00 +000006 19, 2007.

8 Responses to “V is for Vendetta”

  1. I’ll have to check it out.

    Thanks!?

  2. Sounds like an interesting movie.

  3. I caught that one in the theatre. I know what you mean about the letters in prison part. Very touching aspect to the movie.

  4. Thanks for the 411…I haven’t heard much about it, and I wanted to see it as well…I will look for it this weekend.

    Have a good one

  5. That’s a movie which has been on my list to see….thanks for the blurb…it’s moving to the top! 🙂

  6. Kev and I have been looking forward to a relaxing weekend at home for once…and this movie will be just what we need to watch Saturday night. Thanks for the reminder and for the explanation of the movie. Cannot wait to see it now.

  7. Yeah man, what a RAD movie! I wrote about it back in March:

    http://srgtpepper.blogspot.com/2006/03/remember-remember-fifth-of-november.html

  8. It was an AMAZING movie showing why being a knowledgable voter is important!

Leave a Reply

 
