Time Heals? Time Heals!

One thing many people seem to tell me that are close to me, my pastor, my friends is “Time heals”.   I think I’ve even said it to friends myself that are having a hard time after a divorce, or breakup.   I don’t think this is true when it means that we will eventually forget the wounds inflicted on us or wounds we inflicted on others and be able to live on as if nothing happened.  That is not really healing;  it is simply ignoring reality.  But when the expression “time heals” means that faithfulness in a difficult relationship can lead us to a deeper understanding of the ways we have hurt each other, then there is much truth in it.  “Time heals” implies not passively waiting but actively working with our pain and trusting in the possibility of forgiveness and reconciliation.

I had a wonderful July 4th, and July 4th weekend.   Made a new friend.  Spent time with old friends, and my sister, niece, and brother in law came down yesterday and we had a wonderful time.  So I’ve spent 4 days at the beach, and now am just home relaxing and thinking.  Time heals?  Time heals!  :)

~ by deveil on JulyUTCb000000pmSun, 07 Jul 2013 14:29:45 +000013 19, 2007.

One Response to “Time Heals? Time Heals!”

  1. Time does not heal; forgiveness heals – and this can be down in no time at all if one is brave and good at it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

